Introduction of Validity Period for Skills Assessments

21 Jun 2014

Following amendments to the Migration Regulations 1994, from 1 July 2014, skills assessments issued by assessing authorities for the purpose of visa applications will only be valid for three years, or if the skills assessing authority has specified a shorter validity period, for that shorter period. The default three year validity period is to align with the existing three year validity period for English Language tests.

A skills assessment must be valid at the time of lodgement for the following visas:
Direct Entry stream of the Employer Nominated Scheme (subclass 186) visa;
Direct Entry stream of the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (subclass 187) visa; and
Graduate Work stream of the Temporary Graduate (subclass 485) visa.

A skills assessment must be valid at the time of invitation to apply through SkillSelect for the following visas:
Skilled—Independent (subclass 189) visa;
Skilled—Nominated (subclass 190) visa; and
Skilled Regional (Provisional) (subclass 489) visa.

PAM documents for the above visa subclasses have been updated to reflect this change.

These changes do not affect the Temporary Work (Skilled)(subclass 457) visa.